Constellations of the night sky

A constellation is a grouping of stars that represents one of the 88 divisions of the celestial sphere as defined by the International Astronomical Union. Many constellations are derived from old traditional asterisms, which are star patterns within a constellation.

Equatorial map of the constellations

Equatorial (rectilinear) coordinate system in right ascension (RA) and declination (Dec).

Galactic map of the constellations

Galactic (polar) coordinate system in degrees - Sun is at 0° lat (l) - long (b) on the galactic plane

Charts of the 88 constellations

Seasons listed are for mid-northern latitudes. For southern latitudes, flip the season listed. For example, if a constellation is listed as best viewed in the summer, in the southern hemisphere the constellation would be best viewed in the winter.

Circumpolar constellations are visible year-round in the hemisphere listed, and not at all in the opposite hemisphere.

Constellations shown oriented for the northern hemisphere. For the southern hemisphere, constellations will appear rotated 180 degrees (upside-down and left-right reversed) from what is shown.

N = Northern hemisphere   |   S = Southern hemisphere
NC = Northern circumpolar   |   SC = Southern circumpolar

Apus constellation
Crux constellation

Two things are infinite - the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.

- Albert Einstein